top of page
WAMlogo.png

Women in Academic Emergency Medicine

July welcome pic.jpg

OUR 
MISSION

Vanderbilt_University_wordmark [Converted].png

To provide a support system for female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings through mentorship, education, and outreach.

WAM Spring Retreat.jpg

Welcome to Women in Academic emergency Medicine (WAM!)—a group of female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings here at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Working in the emergency department has its challenges, and some of these challenges are unique to women. As a group, we serve as a support network to address these needs and help female physicians find a balance between careers, families, friends, and wellness. We have quarterly meetings to discuss a variety of topics, including work-life integration, contract negotiations, gender microaggressions, and wellness. We also seek opportunities for outreach in the local community and beyond.

Past Events

January 18, 2023

Percy Warner Park Hike​

May 4, 2023

Annual Female Faculty and Resident Retreat

November 13, 2024

Butchertown Hall Dinner

February 13, 2024

Galentine's Night

 

Upcoming Events

MAY

WAM Annual Retreat

20

Time: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Location: TBD

Work-Life Balance from a Female's Perspective led by Physician Coaches Drs. Terako Amison & Adriana Kipper-Smith

OCT

10 Year Anniversary WAM Alumni Event Date

-

Time: TBD
Location: TBD

Date, Time, and Location TBD

AUG

WAM Welcome Event

-

Time: TBD
Location: TBD

Date, Time, and Location TBD

WAM! Co-Leaders

t-overbeeke.jpg

Dr. Tara Overbeeke
tara.m.overbeeke@vumc.org

Parekh_Kendra1.jpg

Dr. Kendra Parekh
kendra.parekh@vumc.org

j-henning.jpg

Dr. Joan Henning
joan.henning@vumc.org

Resident Liaisons

Alexa-Thomas.jpg

Dr. Alexa Thomas
alexa.thomas@vumc.org

Katelyn-Latuska.jpg

Dr. Katelyn Latuska
katelyn.latuska@vumc.org

Adeline-Clyde.jpg

Dr. Madeline Clyde
madeline.clyde@vumc.org

WAM meeting 4.jpg
WAM virtual welcome.jpg
WAM holiday 2.jpg
WAM meeting 5.jpg
bottom of page