WAMlogo.png

Women in Academic Emergency Medicine

WAM meeting 2.jpg

OUR 

MISSION

To provide a support system for female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings through mentorship, education, and outreach.

  • Welcome to Women in Academic emergency Medicine (WAM!)—a group of female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings here at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Working in the emergency department has its challenges, and some of these challenges are unique to women. As a group, we serve as a support network to address these needs and help female physicians find a balance between careers, families, friends, and wellness. We have quarterly meetings to discuss a variety of topics, including work-life integration, contract negotiations, gender microaggressions, and wellness. We also seek opportunities for outreach in the local community and beyond.

Calendar of Events

October 28, 2021 

12:00PM - 1:00PM

Topic: "The Art of Negotiations"

Presenter: Shari Barkin, MD, MSHS

William K. Warren Foundation Chair, Chief, Division of General Pediatrics, Professor of Pediatrics

Winter  2022

Event: Alumni Panel Discussion (Holiday Cookie Exchange)

Host: WAM! Leadership

Spring  2022

Event: WAM! Retreat

May  2022

Event: Resident Farewell

WAM! Co-Leaders

t-overbeeke.jpg

Dr. Tara Overbeeke
tara.overbeeke@vumc.org

Parekh_Kendra1.jpg

Dr. Kendra Parekh
kendra.parekh@vumc.org

j-henning.jpg

Dr. Joan Henning
joan.henning@vumc.org

Sista.png

Dr. Priyanka Sista
priyanka.sista@vumc.org

Resident Liaisons

Sara-Ouderkirk-FULL.jpg

Dr. Sarah Kilborn
sarah.kilborn@vumc.org

Alexa-Thomas.jpg

Dr. Alexa Thomas
alexa.thomas@vumc.org

Katelyn-Latuska.jpg

Dr. Katelyn Latuska
katelyn.latuska@vumc.org

Adeline-Clyde.jpg

Dr. Madeline Clyde
madeline.clyde@vumc.org

WAM meeting 4.jpg
WAM virtual welcome.jpg
WAM holiday 2.jpg
WAM meeting 5.jpg