WAMlogo.png

Women in Academic Emergency Medicine

July welcome pic.jpg

OUR 
MISSION

Vanderbilt_University_wordmark [Converted].png

To provide a support system for female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings through mentorship, education, and outreach.

WAM Spring Retreat.jpg

Welcome to Women in Academic emergency Medicine (WAM!)—a group of female emergency medicine residents, fellows, and attendings here at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Working in the emergency department has its challenges, and some of these challenges are unique to women. As a group, we serve as a support network to address these needs and help female physicians find a balance between careers, families, friends, and wellness. We have quarterly meetings to discuss a variety of topics, including work-life integration, contract negotiations, gender microaggressions, and wellness. We also seek opportunities for outreach in the local community and beyond.

Past Events

October 28, 2021

"The Art of Negotiations"
Shari Barkin, MD, MSHS

January 27, 2022

Alumni Panel Discussion
Holiday Cookie Exchange

WAM! Leadership

Upcoming Events

18

Dinner with Grand Rounds Speaker Dr. Abra Fant

APR

Time: 6:00pm
Location: TBD

5

WAM! Female Resident and Faculty Spring Retreat

MAY

Time: 9am–2pm
Location: Tara Overbeeke's home


With workshop by mixed media artist Wayne Brezinka. Lunch is included.

16

Virtual Welcome for Incoming Female Residents

May

Time: 6p
Location: Virtual

WAM! Co-Leaders

t-overbeeke.jpg

Dr. Tara Overbeeke
tara.m.overbeeke@vumc.org

j-henning.jpg

Dr. Joan Henning
joan.henning@vumc.org

Parekh_Kendra1.jpg

Dr. Kendra Parekh
kendra.parekh@vumc.org

Sista.png

Dr. Priyanka Sista
priyanka.sista@vumc.org

Resident Liaisons

Sara-Ouderkirk-FULL.jpg

Dr. Sarah Kilborn
sarah.kilborn@vumc.org

Alexa-Thomas.jpg

Dr. Alexa Thomas
alexa.thomas@vumc.org

Katelyn-Latuska.jpg

Dr. Katelyn Latuska
katelyn.latuska@vumc.org

Adeline-Clyde.jpg

Dr. Madeline Clyde
madeline.clyde@vumc.org

WAM meeting 4.jpg
WAM virtual welcome.jpg
WAM holiday 2.jpg
WAM meeting 5.jpg